It’s Tuesday and the moving date is creeping closer. There is still very little done but the help starts arriving today. This has all really been a kick for me – to be down for so many days. I’m finally able to get up for longer periods of time and am actually seeing some light at the end of the tunnel. So many visits to the chiro, numerous massages, a lot of hanging upside down (which brings incredible relief, btw), and supplements up the wazoo.

Through all of this, I have seen very clearly how important it is for me to clear out the old patterns. The importance of the somatic part of psychology. While I’ve been down, I’ve been reading The Body In Psychotherapy, which was edited by the director of the grad school I hope to attend next year. Since I graduated with my BA two years ago, I have wanted to take my master’s in Somatic Psychology. There is so much to be gained from this work, so much healing that can be done. It’s seems vividly clear to me that I *need* to do this work, from both sides.

It’s different for me than midwifery. As much as I love and believe in that work, I am unable to do it right now. And I don’t know if I will ever go back. But I see that there are forms of midwifery in many bodies of work. And this practice of healing through body-centered therapy is a way of birthing a new way of being. Midwifing someone (and yourself) into health.

As I’ve been looking around the last several days, I am realizing how much of the stuff in this house has to go. How much it’s holding me down. And holding me back. Things I have held onto for 20 years. It’s time now to say my goodbye’s and thank you’s to the place that it’s all held in my life and pass these objects on. This is a fresh start for me and I am eternally grateful for the opportunity.

xo,

r